top of page

What Makes You Creative?

Columbus State University's Writing Club promotes creativity among all.

The Creative Writing Club at Columbus State University was established in 2010 by Lindsay Marchello. Since its start, it has helped promote creativity among all students no matter if their major resided within the creative writing spectrum. However, in recent semesters, numbers have decreased in attendance and participation. The Saber stopped by their March 9 meeting to see what it’s all about.

The club hosts prompts at every meeting and provides the opportunity to share the resulting work at the end. For this meeting, the prompt was one word: “Storm.” Two students agreed to share their work with The Saber. Anree Rose, a computer science major wrote,

“There’s no debating,” the green mother screams from her snowy top thrown, or did it come from the marshes, where no human belongs. She sings to the weak, the taken and shaken, “I win and you lose. I pick and I choose.” A mistress so cruel. The elk can’t outrun, and the eagles can’t beat the win. Each and everything is beaten and bloodied, the soil forms a casket. The worms, the undertakers. Mother’s nature mere whim, so cruel indeed.””

The other (anonymous) student wrote,

“I can feel the raindrops on my skin

Pin drops

It’s silence all again.

Calm before the storm,

I await it’s form

Standing tall, hands to my side.

My stride will not break,

Not this time.

No amount of rain,

Lightning or thunderclap

Will make me flinch.

I stand at the ready.

Weapons on the ground

I don’t need them.

For I am the storm.”

The Creative Writing Club’s next meeting will be April 6. They hope more will come to explore their creativity, and they ask one question: what makes you creative?


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.

© Est. 1958 by Columbus State University: The Saber

bottom of page