top of page

Student Spotlight: Stephen Clayton

For sophomore music performance major Stephen Clayton, the trombone has always been special. “I liked listening to the trombone. So when it came time for me to join the band in sixth grade I chose it. It just sounded really awesome. And it still sounds really awesome,” Clayton explained.

Now he’s been playing the trombone for nine years. He grew up in Winter Park, Florida and played in Winter Park High School’s marching and symphonic band.

Recently Clayton was selected as a finalist in the American Trombone Workshop. He travelled to Washington, D.C. where the workshop was hosted by the Army Band in March. “The process began back in November when I sent in a recording. Out of the 100 people who audition via recording, 3 are chosen to come to Washington, D.C. and play in front of a group of judges. I received the second place honor,” he said.

In addition to placing second at the American Trombone Workshop, Clayton auditioned for the United States Air Force Band while in Washington, D.C. “It was a good week. Definitely a highlight of my college career,” he said. At 19, Clayton was the youngest person to audition out of 40 people.

He cites Professor Bradley Palmer as a reason he’s been allotted these opportunities. “He’s really fantastic. He’s a great professor and he’s well respected in the trombone world. Working with him these last two years has prepared me to compete at these high levels,” Clayton said.

Upon graduating from CSU, Clayton can see himself doing a number of things. “I would love to play music for the rest of my life. Obviously one of my goals is to play in a big symphony orchestra. Also playing in one of the military bands like I auditioned for would be great. The quality of the play is amazing. It’s at such a high caliber,” he said.

Clayton looks forward to having more chances to compete. “You know, I took home first place at the American Trombone Workshop last year in the Division I area. And this year I took home second in the Division II. Maybe I’ll try for Division III next year. Who knows? But once again, I have to speak to Prof. Palmer’s guidance. He, along with the amazing facilities and other professors here at CSU, has had a huge influence on my success. CSU’s just a great place for music.”

steven.jpg
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.

© Est. 1958 by Columbus State University: The Saber

bottom of page