top of page

Arts Spotlight: Julianna Wells (Painting)

Let me paint a picture for you: Julianna Wells, age 21 and a senior art studio major who loves what she’s doing. “Painting is my life, and I am thankful I am able to pursue it every day. I paint to inspire and invoke thought in myself and others to think about the meanings we attribute to interactions with others and the environment,” she said. Julianna was attracted to the top notch art studios and diverse faculty when deciding to study at CSU, and came here on the Beyond the Limit Funding Future Artists Scholarship.

Julianna devotes a lot of time to art, painting for six to eight hours a day, and adding another hour to read and write about art and other areas that interest her. “I guess I do go well beyond what is expected of me,” she admits, “but it doesn’t feel that way because I am just doing what it takes to have the lifestyle and work ethic of an artist in society.”

Julianna explained that while many people have “the romantic notion of the artist having an idea pop into their head in the midst of emotional turmoil,” it doesn’t work that way in real life. “Most artists I meet are well put together and composed, and they work at their craft every single day. The process of working is what eventually leads the artist to the idea.”

So what does the average day for Julianna look like? She begins her morning by writing three pages of stream of consciousness to help her focus on life and jot down new ideas. The rest of her day is devoted to interchanging studio and theory classes, and hours of painting. “This schedule makes me very happy, because I love to be in my studio painting or drawing.”

And the art doesn’t end there. “Outside of school, I study with a local but nationally known artist by the name of Bo Bartlett. He is an American oil painter who creates narratives that question daily life and society,” said Julianna. “Working with him for the past two years has helped me develop as an artist in my technical ability, concept, and way of life. I am very thankful that Bo is patient enough to take the time to mentor me, and he has really shaped my time here in Columbus.”

She also draws with a group of local artists on Friday mornings, goes to local artist talks, and visits museums and galleries, in addition to the studio classes, convocation, workshops, and lectures she attends. “All of this factors into my art, and I am thankful that Columbus has such a vibrant artistic community. I am not sure if my experience differs from other students, but I do think that getting to know artists both inside and outside of the school has really enhanced my education.”

After graduating, Julianna hopes to go on to get an MFA, and then try being a full time studio artist. “I would like to show in galleries and exhibitions. I also want to teach. I doesn’t really matter if it is in an institution or privately, as long as I get a chance to pay forward what was taught to me.”


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.

© Est. 1958 by Columbus State University: The Saber

bottom of page